Mea Culpa, Mea Culpa, Mea Maxima Culpa

When Churches resumed paused activities in August 2020, after the Covid-19 Pandemic lockdown, I was the Scribe of the Covid-19 LOC in my local Church –Regina Mundi Catholic Church, Babaolosha-Mushin, Lagos. The LOC was charged with ensuring that the rules and regulations from both the Lagos State Government and the Federal Government were strictly adhered to; and, to collect detailed information of every person entering the Church for contact tracing; should there be covid detection.

As the Media Man for the Church as well, I doubled as the PRO of the LOC. I was then directed to broadcast this development across our social media platforms and ensure that each person is mandated to tell another person, knowing that not all our Parishioners have access to social media. Several messages to this effect were broadcasted on Twitter (now X), Instagram and Facebook; as well as shared on WhatsApp platforms of the Church Councils and societies. Just to ensure that Parishioners got the information prior to resumption in August.

Eventually, on resumption, some individuals came with open objection and rejection, questioning the rationale behind the government asking for their personal details. Some said it is only in Regina Mundi that we ask for their details, saying it is not a requirement elsewhere. Those who appeared calm gave silent consent to the voice of those who objected. In other words, they were tacitly in support of those who openly objected. No man is willing to accept a change of status quo, even if it is for the general good.

Confidently, I can aver that denial/rejection of inconvenience is most certainly second nature to man. No matter the difficulty in life, or the precarious economic situation around the world (Nigeria especially), no man wants his/her pleasure disrupted or his/her comfort zone invaded. Should that be the case, some employ violence, some just spark off, while others recoil in silence; as their own ‘defence mechanism.’

From the foregoing, it is noticeable what led to the war in Ukraine, by Russia. Putin knew that the scheme of USA is to control and have unhindered access to any country around the world; hence, why it championed Ukraine joining NATO. By this, the USA can then have unhindered access to Russia. That war is still raging unabated only for Hamas to begin another preventable war in Israel.

Unfortunately for many naysayers, particularly Nigerian so-called ‘men of God’, they thought that the God of the Christians will ensure that Israel wins this war by destroying the Palestinians; forgetting that Israelis are Jewish, and there are more Muslims than Christians in Israel. Particular Islamic leaders have pitched their tent with Hamas; while others have pitched theirs behind Israel. Yet, innocent citizens are the worst off of these barbaric killings. My prayer is that God, creator of all mankind, will put an end to the wars ravaging our planet.

I Am A Year Older Today

The Confiteor (I Confess) is as old as the Catholic celebrations of the Sacraments –Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick, Matrimony and Holy Order– particularly, the Holy Mass. The Priest was meant to pray it before the Mass in the Sacristy. Today, it is a general examination of conscience allowed all participating at the Table of the Lord, especially Communicants; to have the opportunity to be in a state of grace at receiving Christ in the Holy Eucharist, during the Mass.

Mea Culpa, Mea Culpa, Mea Maxima Culpa: Ìj̀bi Mí Ní, Ìj̀bi Mí Ní, Ìj̀bi Nlá Nlá Mí Ní” The mea culpa is not only an admission or a realisation of guilt, it is more of an acknowledgment of our unworthiness to partake at the Lord’s Table. It is appreciating the fact that the mercy of God, expressed in His love by Christ dying for us, surpasses and supersedes our unworthiness. It is our realisation that only the grace of God can make us stand in His presence, so as to be able to partake at His Table (Ps 130: 3).

Today, the Twentieth Day in the Tenth Month of the Year of Our Lord (2023), I realised is my birthday. After knowing and marking my birthday on 20th February every year for about 40 years of my life, I have come to realise that I was born on this day; 2scores and 3 years ago on Monday, 20th October, 1980. I must confess that I am as bewildered as anyone would over this realisation.

It was a rude shock to me finding out some years after the demise of my loving father, Pa Michael Akande Ònífáde. In fact, my siblings and I were dumbfounded coming across the document amongst our father’s documents, whilst we rummaged through his things. Unfortunately, I did not come to possess the birth certificate stating I was born earlier than 20th February, 1981 until after the demise of my beloved mother, Mrs. Omobolanle Mary Adunni Ònífáde, too.

Incidentally, I have had a discussion with one of my many cousins who mentioned to me that he is surprised I celebrate 20th February, 1981 as my date of birth when in actual fact I was born earlier. He claimed it was not up to a year, or just a little more than a year after my older brother was born that the news reached them in Ekiti that I was born. According to him, the thinking was that, my older brother’s christening ceremony was postponed till his 1st birthday. The birth certificate confirmed his claims.

Therefore, I have chosen this day, the Twentieth Day in the Tenth Month of the Year of Our Lord 1980 as my BIRTHDAY. By this, I am putting the Catholic Church, the Premier and Prestigious University of Ibadan, National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) and the general public on notice as regards my original date of birth. As such, I have kickstarted the process to swear an affidavit and formalise the date of birth. I wish I had known this before the death of my loving father.

‘Wagbemiga Mary-Peter Onifade

Chairman/CEO,

Wagbemiga Media Services

+2347034573233

Leave a comment